Is it better to be Born Rich than Talented?

‘If wishes were horses beggars would ride’. This is inconceivable as we can only wish to have been born rich or talented. However, if I were given a choice, I would have preferred to be born talented, for having a talent is more honourable, lasting and satisfying.

To be born talented is something very tangible, as it is inherent in you. It is something by which you are recognised and appreciated throughout your life. It cannot be lost, squandered or abused unlike riches which are quite transitory being there today and gone tomorrow. Moreover wealth tends to corrupt and drives us to vices. We also know that wealth declines if it is shared with others, such is not the case with talent on the contrary it increases with use getting perfected. Thus, the more you use your talent the better it becomes.

Talent is a wealth that is bestowed on you, for giving joy and happiness to the society while riches are very individualistic. They can only be of use to you, or your near and dear ones. Talent brings with it name, fame and immortalises a person, the same cannot be said for riches. Thus, we have renowned statwarts in the sphere of literature, music and many other field who have become immortal by their talent. The likes of William Shakespeare, Premchand and Tansen are not born everyday. They by their talent, continue to inspire generations even after they are no more.

Talent is also more sublime, unlike riches it cannot be inherited or acquired by fair or foul means. It requires sincerity, dedication and rigorous discipline to nurture, so that it can blossom and spread its aroma in the society. This is by no way implying that talent cannot be acquired. We can acquire it, but there is some basic inclination that must be inborn. There is also no shortcut for acquiring talent. It is a long and torturous journey to the top, but once there, one is the monarch of all that he surveys. No amount of wealth can help in acquiring talent, for if that would be so, all rich people would have acquired talent. A talented person is never in want of money or fame these are in fact at his beck and call.

I would therefore choose to be born talented, for William Shakespeare rightly said in the Merchant of Venice “Superfluity comes sooner by white hair, but competence lives longer”. Thus implying that wealth and riches brings with it many worries that turn our hairs grey, However people who are talented and competent, they have no such cause for worry and hence live a happy and content life.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. samjsanderson says:

    I think this is a very thoughtful and great post! I would wish to be born talented as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. very nice post:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Empire says:

    I think sometimes being rich plays an important role, but I wouldn’t say I agree with this fact.
    Good post!

    Like

  4. Can’t we have both? Hehe… Anyways I would prefer to be talented as well… If you’re just rich, you’ll be doing nothing all day but spending your money and that’s it… When you’ll die you will be left with nothing. If you’re talented, instead, you have a purpose in your life, something you will be happy to wake up in the morning and do everyday, something that people around you would like and appreciate, something to be proud of.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Also, money is not limitless, talent is!

      Like

  5. DavidTofie says:

    I will choose the same, being talented. Because why not! Being rich doesn’t necessarily means I’m going to be happy or talented… Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That Girl says:

    This is such an intriguing post! I would rather be born talented again ( I am already, hehe ) than rich as by my talent, I can pave my path to richness. But money can’t buy talent, definitely 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s true, talent is not materialistic! Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  7. Talent… I would choose talent flat out. Rich you could buy the things you love but that could quickly become boring. With talent, you could create unlimited supply of the things you love. How fascinating to be able to create not just admire.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is indeed a true fact what you said! Talent can reward us with money but not vice versa.

      Like

  8. Denisa says:

    Im talented, now I wish I was also rich ! just kidding but you see talent needs money, money needs talent; what is better is to be happy with what you are and remember you can be both poor and have no talents

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ratishagoyal says:

    I always prefer to make myself rich intellectually than materialistically. So wonderful it was reading your post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ana De Jesus says:

    I would rather have talent because wealth is as you said very individualistic, I prefer that people have talent because they can share it with others.

    Like

  11. Franco says:

    I prefer to be talented. By pursuing your talent who knows it can make you rich.It’s a win-win.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. very thoughtful post. Here is my though..With wealth comes more resources in your hand, and that will nurture your talent even more!

    Like

    1. Wealth does gives you more resources, but what if we do not have any peculiar talent? Where would we put that money into!

      Like

  13. Euge Nia says:

    I would prefer to be talented. You can get success by using your talent and your wealth will accumulate over time.

    Like

  14. I would prefer to be both, born talented and rich! But if I have to choose I actually would rather be born rich only because I am hoping with all that money, I will have lots of time to dig deeper and fine my interests and further develop them. I believe it’s all in the mind set and that everyone has a special talent, you just need the time to find and develop it.

    Like

    1. You cannot know a person until you walk in his shoes. Who knows what would you do with all that money if you were born rich? Rich children often underestimate the value of money. Btw, thanks for commenting!

      Like

  15. Eloise says:

    that quote in the very beginning is a quote one of my grandmother’s used to say all the time… in fact my father just said that yesterday! I would rather be born talented!

    Like

  16. geccafrancisco says:

    I would choose talent as well! It’ll make me rich! So enjoy the best of both worlds! LOL.. but seriously though, I’d choose talent as well because being talented fuels passion and also fills self satisfaction 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Ira Swastik says:

    Very nice post
    Hreatly helped by it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

